Photography Contest

MA-g Awards

Deadline |


Theme |


Territory |


Eligibility |

Open to all

Entry Fees |

50 CHF/Single 100 CHF/Series

Prizes |

The Museum of Avant-garde is delighted to launch its yearly programme inviting artists and creatives to enter its contemporary collection and win the prestigious MA-g Awards.

In 2021 William Klein, Tom Geismar and Seymour Chwast bestowed their own Awards to the most outstanding projects. In 2022 we continued this trail of outstanding judges partnering up with Duane Michals, Gerald Scarfe and Henry Steiner, who also believed in the vision of The Museum and awarded the 2022 winners. This year will see the participation of three remarkable judges with:
– Nobuyoshi Araki MA-g Awards for photography
– Maciej Hibner MA-g Awards for illustration
– Fritz Gottschalk MA-g Awards for graphic design

Why enter
The MA-g Awards are a unique opportunity to have your work judged directly by one of the most outstanding living artists, who have made their mark in the XX century creative landscape. Each year The Museum of Avant-garde partners up with three of the most prominent figures in contemporary photography, illustration and graphic design to create a unique and unrepeatable Award. Each edition sees a different exclusive judge for each discipline.

All entries will go through a two stage process to identify the MA-g Awards winners. Shortlisted artworks will still feature in the Museum’s contemporary section and will become part of the permanent collection, comprising works from the greatest avant-garde artists, from Rodchenko to Man Ray, El Lissitzky, Moholy-Nagy, Picabia, Kandinsky, and many more.

Who can take part
The invitation is open to:
– photographers, illustrators, graphic designers and creatives in general
– communication agencies, such as advertising and design agencies
– publishers of annuals, books, print or digital magazines and newspapers
– private or public organisations, including not for profit associations